STAAR Testing

  • General Information

    The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) replaced the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) starting in the 2011-2012 school year. This new testing system addresses legislative mandates outlined by Senate Bill 1031 in 2007 and House Bill 3 in 2009. While designed to test students’ knowledge and skills in a deeper way, STAAR will continue to be based on the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS).

    What’s different about STAAR?

    The STAAR tests. . . .

    • Are more rigorous than the TAKS tests
    • Are designed to measure a student’s college and career readiness, starting in elementary (readiness standards will be defined by TEKS considered critical for success in the current grade/course and for preparedness in following grades/courses and ultimately for college and career)
    • Will concentrate on readiness standards (approx. 60-65 percent of the test) but will also assess other TEKS for the current grade/course -- known as supporting standards
    • Will include more difficult testing and require a higher level of student performance

    Elementary Assessments

    • 3rd – Mathematics & Reading (including English and Spanish versions)
    • 4th – Mathematics, Reading & Writing (including English & Spanish versions)

    Middle School Assessments

    • 5th – Mathematics, Reading & Science (including English & Spanish versions)
    • 6th – Mathematics and Reading

    Junior High Assessments

    • 7th – Mathematics, Reading and Writing
    • 8th – Mathematics, Reading, Social Studies and Science

    High School Assessments

    • English I
    • Algebra I
    • Biology
    • English II
    • U.S. History