Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

District announces 12 National Merit finalists

National Merit Finalists 2024

Pearland Independent School District proudly announces 12 finalists in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program.

These finalists include Pearland High School’s Brady Pierce, Turner College and Career High School’s Thomas Lambert, Ian MacPhail and Kaytlynn Norman, and Dawson High School’s Hussein Elsaie, Hantao Jin, Sasha Kuzmenko, Shraddha Madhi, Benjamin Walsworth-Purkiss, Alexander Wright, Melinda Yao and Haoqi Zhang.

These students number among approximately 15,000 finalists nationwide competing for 7,140 National Merit, corporate-sponsored and college-sponsored scholarships.

Beginning in March and continuing to mid-June, finalists will be selected to receive scholarships.

About the National Merit Scholarship Program

In spring 2024, semifinalists who advance to the finalist round will compete for approximately 7,140 National Merit Scholarships worth a combined value of nearly $28 million. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

To become Merit Scholar finalists, students must not only have outstanding academic records throughout high school but also earn high SAT scores and demonstrate leadership in school and community activities.

Finalists will compete for the following awards:

  • 2,500 single-payment National Merit® $2500 Scholarships for which all Finalists will be considered;
  • about 840 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for which Finalists who meet a company or business grantor’s specified criteria will be considered; and

some 3,800 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for which only Finalists who will attend their respective sponsor institutions are considered.


  • DHS
  • District
  • PHS