Return to Headlines

Junior high singers win seats in all-region choir

       Following an intense competition, 43 Pearland Independent School District students from all four Pearland junior high schools won places in all-region choir during the Texas Music Educators Association Region 19 auditions on Oct. 22 and 23.

       “I am absolutely thrilled at the quality of our junior high choirs,” Tom Bell, Pearland ISD Director of Fine Arts, said. “It all starts with great instruction from very talented and dedicated directors and ends with hard-working students pushing themselves to become a little better every day.”

       The four Pearland ISD junior high choirs have much to be proud when it comes to their very talented and dedicated students.

       “All of the students in the region receive the same pieces of music at the beginning of the school year. Each choir director has their own unique method of teaching the music but common practices are to work on the music in class, perform the music at their fall concert, work on it with their private lesson teacher, after school sectionals, etc. But mostly, the students have to spend time on their own developing the vocal skills needed to perform the pieces,” Bell said.

       Participating in the auditions not only allows singers to qualify for the all-region choir but also empowers them with life-long skills.

“Since this is an individual activity, all students become better musicians by going through the process, regardless if they make it or not. Beyond that, they learn how to work on a long-term project that concludes with them performing, by themselves, in front of their peers and judges. Time management and organizational skills, perseverance and grit are also developed by going through the region audition process,” Bell said.

       Pearland junior high students who won spots in the all-region choir include: 

       Miller: Reagan Anderson, Neveah Lewis, Danielle Padilla, Andie Sellers and Garrison Thurston.

       West: Rachel Anderson, Tanishta Anbu, Makenzie Biles, Aleesha Bijoy, Cody Dague, Larissa Garcia, Rylee Johnson, Diona Jom, Jeremiah Keeton, Adon Kumbattu, Allison Li, Sofia Moeller, Victoria Powell, Meredith Russell, Ava Sherrill and Anne Wong 

       East: Madelyn Bradshaw, Andrew Brown, Armando Cabrera-Ontiveros, Lilah Clark, Cassidy Galloway, Abigail Gonzales, Olivia Kirtley, Anna Kurek, Esthela Salinas, Kamilla Tucker, Chris Villanueva, Lori Vo, Charles Walton and Ireland White. 

       South: Carolynn Almaguer, Jaydon Daniel, Leslie Foster, James Galbraith, Adrianne Licup, Brandon Martinez, Jayden Monday and Blaze Murua.