Return to Headlines

Junior high musicians win seats in all-region band

Following an intense competition, Pearland Independent School District students from all four Pearland junior high schools secured 179 spots in the all-region band during the Texas Music Educators Association Region 19 auditions on Nov. 5.

“This truly is an amazing achievement for Pearland ISD and for the selected students,” Tom Bell, Pearland ISD Director of Fine Arts, said. “Instant gratification is absent from any project that takes a few months to complete, like this one. The students got to enjoy it and experience the satisfaction and reward of working on a long-term project that required discipline and dedication.”

The four Pearland ISD junior high bands not only showed that they have talent, but also tenacity.

“In preparation for the competition, the students received the music at the beginning of the school year and participated in weekly after-school rehearsals at their campus. In addition to working with the directors, a specialist on every instrument also went to each school to help them develop specific skills that were related to their instrument. Students also worked with private lesson teachers to develop and perfect the skills needed to perform their region pieces,” Bell said. 

The gains from participating in the all-region band auditions far exceed musical skills.

“Ultimately, the student must develop grit, perseverance and discipline to practice the music on their own. This not only makes every student that participates in the process, regardless of the outcome, a better musician but also develops habits that the students can then transfer to EVERY aspect of their academic and personal lives,” Bell said.

Pearland junior high students who won spots in the all-region band include:

Miller: Lydia Abraham, Ishaan Aggarwal, Cameron Alatrash, Alexis Baum, Olivia Campbell, Logan Champion, David Chen, Alexander Cross, Caroline Cummings, Andi Delaney, Connor Dunn, Evan Erskine, Samantha Fossan, Aidan Guerrero, Paul Hansen, Nathan Hawks, Jacob Hoang, Mikhail Jackson, Joel Jacob, Nasya James, Enyang Jiang, Layla Kho, Mirai Komatsu, Emily Krobot, Luke Laird, Caroline Mao, Phoebe May, Antonio Means, Aidan Michael, Alexa Najera, Jake Papasan, Cailin Pascua, Sydney Phillips, Michael Powers, Garrett Rasmussen, Daniel Ren, Claudia Rodriguez, Reed Rowland, Aidan Sadai, Grady Shaddock, Mia Sherrill, Brendon Smith, Zane Stevenson, David James Tamayo, Austin Tatuaca, Morgan Thomas, Canaan Udoetuk, Rodrigo Vargas Casado, Rush Williams, Kara Wong, Vera Yao, Caylee Young, Jonathan Zhang and Kyle Zhou.

West: Morgan Chan, Heidy Li, Grace Kim, Viviana Luna, Katherine Wu, Emily Bankson, Zuri Johnson, Derek Xu, Hannah Siggins, Arianna Padilla Cavazos, Aubrey Daniels, Samuel Frederick,

Jennifer Ross, Emmerie Ricketts, Alan Yao, Ethan He, Elliott Dickson, Yichen Wang, Obada Achkar, Momo Huang, Melissa Taylor, Sumith Murthy, Kaden Bui, Haobo Shi, Emma Porter, Alex Song, Joaquin Greenwood, Max Xiao, Nathaniel Martinez, Stephen Gobin, Stanley Sun, Ethan Chen, Bruno Diaz Reyes, Lynden Melo, Luca Gracia, Kenrick Xia, Harshil Aradhya, Joseph Swafford, Drew Westbrook, Ariana Villalon, Graham Onhaizer, Olivia Estala, Emily Sanborne, Lukas Hickman, Leo Williamson-Perez, Liza Anino, Eli Mondragon, Jacob Longstreet, Clara Lemoine, Cameron Dunn, Anthony Rodriguez, Bailey Brown, Josh Anino, Ethan Castillo, Jeffin Antoney, Brooke Williams, Ayden Ybarra-Trevino and Zachary Stavinoha

East: Alicia Whited-Loza, Samantha Macias, Jake Fletcher, Zachary Anderson, Thomas Gore, Marcus Perez, Michael Collins, Colby Mo, Ethan Trisna, Leslie DiCicco, Julia Calelly, Noah Fernandez, Ethan Feifel, David Jimenez, Theresa Nguyen, Audrina Johnson, Isabella Guthrie, Gabby France, Selene Martinez, Graceyn Cliff, Evan Drescher, Lindsey Kamffer, Lillian Mansfield, Preslee Shields, Allyson Gaustad, Canon Swenson, Logan Espinoza, Lucas Perez, Brandon Urizar, Kaden DeLeon, Lucas Cummings, Jackson Wolfe, Collin Turner and Dylan Bezdek.

South: Amelia Anguiano, Brady Bautsch, Noah Burback, Natalie Danas, Cayden Ivy, Ashlyn Langston, Oliver Lito, Sophia Nguyen, Lukas Spiker, Gillian Toney, Jacob Voelkel, Kingston Wilturner and Nathan Hinojosa.