Return to Headlines

Dawson High School students win national recognition in Scholastic competition

Katherine Xie, a tenth-grade artist from Dawson High School, sketched her way towards a national gold medal in the 2023 Scholastic Art & Writing competition with her piece “Lost in Thought.” DHS tenth-grader William Sun received a silver medal for his short piece titled “The End Before the Beginning”.

Xie’s and Sun’s submissions number among 300,000 art and writing pieces entered in this year’s nationwide competition. The top art and writing at the regional level advanced to the national stage, where more than 2,000 pieces earned National medals. Xie and other national winners have been invited to attend a recognition ceremony at Carnegie Hall to be held on June 8.

Xie’s art teacher is Dawson’s Teri Zuteck and Sun’s English teacher is Lafonda Johnson.

The Scholastic Art & Writing awards are the nation’s largest running and most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in grades 7-12.

Each fall, schools submit students’ best art and writing and entries are judged by a professional panel. Only Gold Key winners advance to the national level.

Regional awards for art include:

Glenda Dawson High School

Sion Joo: Gold Key and Silver Key

Faith Victoria Ni: Gold Key

Lauren Oishi: Gold Key

Katherine Xie: Gold Key

Natalie Cramer: Silver Key

Ziyuan Lu: Silver Key

Brice Rudis: Silver Key and Honorable Mention

Mya Geren: Honorable Mention

Ashley McKay: Honorable Mention

Faith Victoria Ni: Honorable Mention

Sophia Peterson: Honorable Mention

Leilanie Turcios: Honorable Mention

Art teachers are Teri Zuteck and Cydney White


Pearland High School

Sienna Chamblin: Gold Key

Jackson Coffee: Honorable Mention

Faith Drake: Honorable Mention

Carson Flores: Honorable Mention

Catelin Mo: Honorable Mention

Miley Shimek: Honorable Mention

Hailey White: Honorable Mention

Art teachers are Alyssa Hartgrove, Guillermo Jimenez, Phillip Chatman


PJH South

Aniyah Stringer: Honorable Mention

Art teacher is Jodie Lyden


PJH West

Aubrey Daniels: Gold Key

Danielle Nguyen: Silver Key

Grace Dai: Honorable Mention

Gabrielle Shumaker: Honorable Mention

Art teacher is Christa George


Regional awards for writing include:

Glenda Dawson High School

Jacqueline Xiong: Two Gold Keys, Two Silver Keys and American Voices Nominee

Nick Palermo: Gold Key

William Sun: Gold Key

Sion Joo: Gold Key

Sai Kaushik: Gold Key

Kara Li: Silver Key

Katherine Nelson: Two Silver Keys

Alexander Sun: Silver Key

Jerry Tong: Two Silver Keys and one Gold Key

Michelle Gu: Three Honorable Mentions

Caleb Ni: Honorable Mention

Joshua Ni: Honorable Mention

English teachers are: Gay Stricklin, Kimberly Tucker, Angela Ruth, Rita Ricks


Pearland High School

Isabel Chung: Silver Key

English teacher is Rachael Durham


Turner College and Career High School

Chino Umelo: Gold Key and Silver Key

Laufey Boughton: Gold Key

Arneia Delos Reyes: Gold Key

Allison Diller: Gold Key

Adalyn Hoang: Gold Key

Abigail Cantu: Silver Key

Angela Castellanos: Silver Key

Katherine Crocker: Silver Key

Catalina Schmidt: Silver Key

Alice Da Silva: Honorable Mention

Megan King: Honorable Mention

Olympia Murphy: Honorable Mention

Zipporah Ramirez: Honorable Mention

English teacher is Kyla Mora.

Since the program’s founding in 1923, the Awards have fostered the creativity and talent of millions of students and include a distinguished list of alumni such as Tschabalala Self, Stephen King, Kay WalkingStick, Charles White, Joyce Carol Oates, and Andy Warhol, all of whom received recognition in the Awards when they were teens.

For more about the awards, visit