Return to Headlines

District announces 17 National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars

      Seventeen Pearland Independent School District students have been named scholars in the 2019 National Hispanic Recognition Program.

      These scholars include . . . .

      Dawson High School:

      Julia Bennett

      Alexis Brence

      Ashley Brence

      Sydney Cisneros

      Tessa Garcia

      Cole Ritter

      Ray Leal

      Ryan Leal

      Marisol Penry

      Kaitlin Rodriguez

      Pearland High School:

      Luke Barrera

      Aaron Bovy

      Anyssa Castorina

      Gabriel Galan

      Baylee Marin

      Mikayla Rogers

      Turner College & Career High School:

      Penelope Moreno

      NHRP recognizes early 5,000 students every year from a pool of more than 250,000 students who took the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test during their junior year and identified themselves as Hispanic or Latino.

      Students must be at least one-quarter Hispanic or Latino and have achieved at least a minimum PSAT score for their region. Students with grade point averages of 3.5 or higher are designated as scholars.

      The list of recognized students was distributed to four-year postsecondary institutions in September, giving students an opportunity to hear from colleges interested in prospective students of Hispanic and Latino heritage.