Return to Headlines

District ACE Mentorship team takes second in competition

ACE Mentorship

       The Pearland Independent School District Architecture, Construction and Engineering (ACE) Mentorship team captured second place in the Houston ACE competition on April 13.

       Participating for the second time, the Pearland ISD team faced off against 28 Houston-area teams.

       Members of the team consisted of students from Turner College & Career High School Noelle Dalida, Caleb Lira, Adrian Astorga, Nathan Ramos, Angel Nava, Sharisse Beavers and team leader Justin Nguyen, Pearland High School’s Alex Valdez and Jeffery Sosa, Dawson High School’s Kani Manickavasakam and Gabby Johnson from Clear Creek ISD. The team met weekly since October with mentors from Stantec, Durotech and EEA Consulting Engineers, as well as retired members of Houston American Institute of Architects.  

       Thirteen mentors lead the team in the project development and career exploration of architecture, construction management and engineering. The Request for Proposal (RFP) chosen by the team was to design a transportation hub that would reduce congestion in the Houston downtown area by connecting several transportation modes. The site is the Barbara Jordan Post Office on 401 Franklin Street and the team chose to design the future terminal of the bullet train and connect it with both the Metro Light Rail and Bus system and the bike/ hike trails in the area. The design also provides for an indoor/outdoor event venue as a well as a restaurant mall with a view of downtown Houston. 

       ACE Mentor Program is a nationwide after-school program for high school students interested in Architecture, Construction and Engineering. Professionals in the ACE fields meet to organize hands-on activities and presentations that explore the disciplines. Each team works on a simulated design project and together with their mentors, they work on the entire design process from design concepts through what it would entail to actually construct it.

       The team is sponsored by TCCHS engineering teacher Lillian Wilson.