Return to Headlines

Sixteen Pearland ISD students competing for National Merit scholarships

      Pearland Independent School District proudly announces 16 semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.Dawson High School Semi-Finalists

      These semifinalists include Pearland High School’s Angela Tran and Dawson High School’s Alexander Albert, Yupu Cai, Aayush Dave, Theodore Jiang, Nethra Kaushik, Eric Li, Frank Li, Roger McNichols, Siddharth Nair, Morgan Spradlin, Willa Tao, Divjot Walia, Hans Wang, Helen Wang and Katherine Xie.

      Approximately 16,000 students -- less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors -- reached the semifinalist stage this year, thanks to high scores on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test during their junior year in each state.

      Approximately 1.6 million juniors in about 22,000 high schools entered the 2019 scholarship program by taking the 2017 PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

      About National Merit Scholarship Program 

      In spring 2019, semifinalists who advance to the finalist round will compete for approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarships of three types and approximately 1,200 Special Scholarships will be awarded in 2019, with a combined value of more than $31 million. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. 

Pearland High School Semi-Finalist

      To become Merit Scholar finalists, students must not only have outstanding academic records throughout high school but also earn high SAT scores and demonstrate leadership in school and community activities.


      Finalists will compete for the following awards:

  • 2,500 National Merit Scholarships (worth $2,500 each) awarded on a state-representational basis
  • 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarships provided by approximately 230 corporations/businesses
  • 4,000 college-sponsored scholarships from 190 colleges and universities for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution
  • 1,200 Special Scholarships provided by corporate sponsors to outstanding students who meet their sponsors’ eligibility criteria