Return to Headlines

Twenty two students advance to national Scholastic Art & Writing Contest


       Artists from Dawson High School, Pearland High School, Robert Turner College & Career High School, Berry Miller Junior High and Pearland Junior High West, along with writers/poets from DHS will compete for national Scholastic Art & Writing Awards this spring.

       The Scholastic awards are the nation’s longest-running and most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in grades 7–12. The competition’s mission is to bring outstanding visual art and writing created by teens to a national audience by showcasing the work and encouraging creative and career development.

       Each fall, schools submit students’ best art and writing and entries are judged by a professional panel. Only Gold Key winners advance to the national level for a chance to win one of approximately 1,500 national awards. Gold and Silver Medals will be announced March 12 and awarded on June 6 through a ceremony at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

       Regional awards for art include. . . .

       Berry Miller Junior High

       Gracin Nguyen: Gold Key

       Mya Geren: Two Silver Keys

       Avery Gilman: Silver Key

       Bao-Chau Ho: Silver Key

       An Truong: Silver Key

       Their art teachers are Sara Mendoza and Audra Byerly.

       Dawson High School

       Julia Bennett: Gold Key

       Alexandra Konstantinov: Gold Key and Silver Key

       Michael Nguyen: Two Gold Keys

       Helen Wang: Gold Key and Four Silver Keys

       Wendy Xie: Gold Key

       Their art teacher is Teri Zuteck.

        Pearland High School

        Jeffery Sosa: Gold Key

        David Santos: Silver Key

        Their art teacher is Robert Stiles.

        Pearland Junior High West

        Sophia Fu: Gold Key

        Angela Haskin: Two Silver Keys

        Their art teacher is Christa George.

        Robert Turner College & Career High School

        John Tansey: Gold Key

        The art teacher is Mark Villapando.


        Regional awards for writing include these DHS students. . . .

        Julia Bennett: Silver Key

        Jabari Bowen: Honorable Mention

        Yupu Cai: Gold Key

        Ethan Huang Chen: Silver Key

        Jacqueline Clogan: Silver Key

        Audrey Dial: Gold Key

        Lauren Hale: Gold Key

        Danny Hamed: Silver Key

        Julie Henry: Silver Key

        Harrison Huang: Gold Key

        Sabah Jamal: Silver Key

        Vanshika Jhonsa: Silver Key

        Aarav Kumar: Gold Key

        Yuji Lee: Gold Key

        Kathy Liang: Gold Key

        Aditya Namjoshi: Two Silver Keys

        Aroob Sheikh: Silver Key

        Catherine Tang: Silver Key

        Amy Thyne: Gold Key

        Divjot Walia: Gold Key

        Helen Wang: Two Gold Keys

        Jessica Williams: Silver Key and Honorable Mention

        Derek Xie: Three Gold Keys, Five Silver Keys and Honorable Mention

        Katherine Xie: Gold Key

        Raina Zhang: Gold Key

        The Harris County Department of Education serves as the regional sponsor of this prestigious national program and hosts yearly judging and awards ceremonies for thousands of writing and art entries submitted by students.

        Famous past winners include Stephen King, Dan Fogelberg, Sylvia Plath, Robert Redford, Truman Capote, Andy Warhol, Joyce Carol Oates, Marc Brown and Jaida Jones.

        For more about the Scholastic awards, visit