Return to Headlines

Pearland ISD schools receive TEA distinctions

       Three Pearland Independent School District campuses recently numbered among only about 495 statewide to earn all possible Texas Education Agency distinction designations applicable to their individual school in the 2019 state accountability system.

       Alexander and Leon H. Sablatura middle schools and Berry Miller Junior High School hold the honor of earning all distinctions they were eligible to receive.

       Up to seven distinction designations can be earned for: Academic Achievement in English Language Arts/Reading; Academic Achievement in Mathematics; Academic Achievement in Science; Academic Achievement in Social Studies; Top 25 Percent: Comparative Academic Growth; Top 25 Percent: Comparative Closing the Gaps; and Postsecondary Readiness.     

       In addition, Magnolia and Massey Ranch elementary schools earned three of five possible distinctions, Rogers Middle School earned five of six distinctions, Pearland Junior High South earned six of seven distinctions and Glenda Dawson High School earned five of seven distinctions.

       “We’re proud of all of our schools. A total of 20 of our 23 campuses received these lofty distinctions; an improvement when compared to 2018’s already impressive results, when 16 of 22 eligible campuses received distinctions,” Superintendent Dr. John Kelly said.

       Pearland ISD demonstrated overall improved results in the 2019 A-F state accountability system ratings, with 16 of its 23 campuses maintaining an “A” rating or rising one letter grade. The district achieved an actual score of 93, almost identical to 2018’s score of 94, having it reduced to 89, which granted Pearland ISD an overall “B” in the ratings released in August. The score adjustment is due to a new implemented rule which states that a district may not receive an “A” rating if the district includes any campus with a rating of D or below.

       Distinctions Explained

       TEA distinction designations vary based on campus grade levels and type, and campuses can earn distinctions by being in the top 25% of its campus comparison group. Elementary school campuses are eligible for up to 5 distinctions. Middle schools are eligible for up to 6 distinctions. Junior high and high school campuses are eligible for the most -- up to seven distinctions:

    • Academic achievement in English language arts/reading
    • Academic achievement in mathematics
    • Academic achievement in science
    • Academic achievement in social studies
    • Top 25 Percent: comparative academic growth
    • Top 25 Percent: comparative closing the gaps
    • Postsecondary readiness

      To learn more about the A-F accountability system, visit