Return to Headlines

Eleven Pearland ISD students qualify for National Thespian Festival

       Six Glenda Dawson High School and five Pearland High School theatre students are looking forward to national spotlight after earning high scores in the Texas Thespian State Festival Nov. 21-23. Qualifying students will compete at the International Thespian Festival to be held in Bloomington, Indiana June 2020.

       Qualifying students included:

       From DHS’s Ovation Theatre

       Evi Dewey, Kayla Hemanes, Morgan Kloesel, Erin McSpadden, Avery Sanderlin and John Silva, all in solo musical.

       From PHS’s Pearland Theatre

       Lucas Snydar and Chase Ramos in duet acting, and Brooklynn King, Davian Raggio and Sarah Roberts, all in solo musical.

       Additionally, DHS’s improv troupe advanced to the quarterfinals (top 8 in the state), with one of the troupe members, Jake Cummings, being selected as a state festival All-Star Improv troupe member and performing at the state improv finals. One of PHS’s qualifying thespians, Davian Raggio, was also selected for a call back to perform at main stage during the state festival, a first in Pearland Theatre’s history.

       During the state festival, budding actors and actresses competed in everything from individual performance and team events to costume construction and design, short film, lighting design and stage management.

       John Grimmett and Cody Edgar direct DHS’s Ovation Theatre and Andrea Mashman directs PHS’s Pearland Theatre.