Return to Headlines

District announces 13 National Merit finalists

       Pearland Independent School District proudly announces 13 finalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.

       These finalists include Dawson High School’s Stefan Budimlic, Kyle Bundick, Nicholas Christner, Justin Lenderman, Cindy Li, Meredith McNichols, Vidya Muthupillai, Ashley Phillips, Muhammad Rehmat, Jose Salinas, Amar Sehgal, Pavan Senthil and Jordyn Taylor.      

       These students number among approximately 15,000 finalists nationwide competing for 7,600 National Merit, corporate-sponsored and college-sponsored scholarships.

       Beginning in March and continuing to mid-June, approximately finalists will be selected to receive scholarships.

       About National Merit Scholarship Program

       In spring 2021, finalists will compete for approximately 7,600 National Merit Scholarships of three types and approximately 1,200 Special Scholarships will be awarded in 2021, with a combined value of more than $31 million. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

       To become Merit Scholar finalists, students must not only have outstanding academic records throughout high school but also earn high SAT scores and demonstrate leadership in school and community activities.

       Finalists will compete for the following awards:

  • 2,500 National Merit Scholarships (worth $2,500 each) awarded on a state-representational basis
  • 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarships provided by approximately 220 corporations/businesses
  • 4,100 college-sponsored scholarships from 180 colleges and universities for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution
  • 1,100 Special Scholarships provided by corporate sponsors to outstanding students who meet their sponsors’ eligibility criteria