Return to Headlines

Fifteen students advance to national Scholastic Art & Writing Contest

      Artists from Dawson High School, Pearland High School, Robert Turner College & Career High School and Berry Miller Junior High, along with writers/poets from Berry Miller JH, Pearland Junior High West, DHS and TCCHS will compete for national 2020 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards this spring.

      Additionally, BMJH’s artist Katherine Xie and DHS’s writer Sai Kaushik number among 10 regional American Voices/American Visions winners -- best-in-region awards selected by local writers and artists. They will compete for top spots nationwide for American Voices/American Visions medals.

      The Scholastic awards are the nation’s longest-running and most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in grades 7–12. The competition’s mission is to bring outstanding visual art and writing created by teens to a national audience by showcasing the work and encouraging creative and career development.

      Each fall, schools submit students’ best art and writing and entries are judged by a professional panel. Only Gold Key winners advance to the national level for a chance to win one of approximately 1,500 national awards. Gold and Silver Medals will be announced March 17 and awarded on June 9 through a national ceremony in New York City.

      Regional awards for art include. . . .

     Berry Miller Junior High

      Katherine Xie: Gold Key and American Vision

      Madeline Locklear: Silver Key

      Jack Liu: Honorable Mention

      Yutong Jiang: Honorable Mention

      Shealtiel Cannon: Honorable Mention

      Julia Xiao: Honorable Mention

      Julia Roehl: Honorable Mention

      Their art teachers are Sara Mendoza and Noelle Johnson.


     Dawson High School

      Avery Gilman: Gold Key and Honorable Mention

      Jamie Lincoln: Gold Key and Honorable Mention

      Ella Lu: Gold Key

      Aruna Muthupillai: Gold Key and Silver Key

      Gracin Nguyen: Gold Key

      Wendy Xie: Gold Key

      Kate Liu: Honorable Mention

      Rayan Cooper: Honorable Mention

      Marissa Devivar: Honorable Mention

      Gage Campos: Honorable Mention

      Bridgita Acosta: Honorable Mention

      Yuan Jia Wang: Two Honorable Mentions

      Their art teachers are Teri Zuteck and Cydney White.


     Pearland High School

      Emily Anderson: Silver Key

      Avery English: Silver Key

      Luke Maxwell: Silver Key

      Caden Phillips: Silver Key

      Chelsea Tran: Silver Key

      Crystal Dobrowski: Honorable Mention

      Jossue Ipina: Honorable Mention

      Bailey Reilly: Honorable Mention

      Allison Sayre: Honorable Mention

      Amber-Gayle Williams: Honorable Mention

      Hailey White: Honorable Mention

      Their art teacher are Mariel Esposti, Laura Castaneda and Sam Jowers.


     Robert Turner College & Career High School

      John Tansey: Two Gold Keys and one Silver Key

      The art teacher is Mark Villapando.


      Regional awards for writing include. . . .

     Berry Miller Junior High

      Elizabeth Hu: One Gold Key, three Silver Keys and one Honorable Mention

      The teacher is Lee Broze.


     Pearland Junior High West

      Michelle Gu: Gold Key

      Jerry Tong: One Gold Key and three Silver Keys              

      The teacher is Ashley Hill.


     Dawson High School

      Sai Kaushik: Two Gold Keys, One Silver, two Honorable Mentions and American Voices Nominee

      Vivian Nong: Gold Key

      He Shi: Gold Key

      Ananya Amar: Silver Key

      The teachers are Kimberly Tucker, Shiree Rice and Shari Spain.


     Robert Turner College & Career High School

      James Frazier: Gold Key and Honorable Mention

      Kathy Tu: Silver Key

      Kennedi Vontur: Silver Key

      The teachers are Mark Villalpando and Kyla Mora.


      The Harris County Department of Education serves as the regional sponsor of this prestigious national program and hosts yearly judging and awards ceremonies for thousands of writing and art entries submitted by students.

      Famous past winners include Stephen King, Dan Fogelberg, Sylvia Plath, Robert Redford, Truman Capote, Andy Warhol, Joyce Carol Oates, Marc Brown and Jaida Jones.

      For more about the Scholastic awards, visit