Return to Headlines

Junior high students win seats in all-region band

       Following an intense competition, Pearland Independent School District students from all four Pearland junior high schools secured 155 spots in the all-region band during the Texas Music Educators Association Region 19 auditions on Nov. 6.

        “This truly is an amazing achievement for Pearland ISD and for the selected students,” Tom Bell, Pearland ISD Director of Fine Arts, said. “Instant gratification is absent from any project that takes a few months to complete, like this one. The students got to enjoy it and experience the satisfaction and reward of working on a long-term project that required discipline and dedication.”

       The four Pearland ISD junior high bands not only showed that they have talent, but also tenacity.

       “In preparation for the competition, the students received the music at the beginning of the school year and participated in weekly after-school rehearsals at their campus. In addition to working with the directors, a specialist on every instrument also went to each school to help them develop specific skills that were related to their instrument. Students also worked with private lesson teachers to develop and perfect the skills needed to perform their region pieces,” Bell said. 

       The gains from participating in the all-region band auditions far exceed musical skills.

       “Ultimately, the student must develop grit, perseverance and discipline to practice the music on their own. This not only makes every student that participates in the process, regardless of the outcome, a better musician but also develops habits that the students can then transfer to EVERY aspect of their academic and personal lives,” Bell said.

       Pearland junior high students who won spots in the all-region band include:

       Berry Miller Junior High:

       Lydia Abraham, Ishaan Aggarwal, Connor Allen, Nathan Benjamin, Alexander Bessire, Tatum Bradberry, Leo Carrigan, David Chen, Caroline Chow, Matthew Cripps, Caroline Cummings, Ashan Edward, Samantha Fossan, Gabriella Gobran, Dylan Gulbis, Enyang Jiang, Alan Keaton, Connor Reid King, Emily Krobot, Luke Laird, Caitlyn Lara Cao, Kennedi Martin, Aidan Michael, Daniel Miller, Joseph Minard, Kamryn Moore, Philip Nguyen, Jake Papasan, Maximus Pham, Sydney Phillips, Michael Powers, Jack Prati, Dana Racero, Madalyn Reyes , Alexandra Richard, Hannah Rogers, Aidan Sadai, Devin Saljuud, Gabriela Santoni Rivera, Grady Shaddock, Austin Tatuaca, Reid Toner, Leilanie Turcios, Dylan Wagner, Corbin Wanner, Michael Eugene, Watkins, Travis Welch, Kevin Yang and Renenutet York-Westbrook.       

       Pearland Junior High East:

       Taylan Alviza, Dylan Bezdek, Carter Caballero, Katy Cavanaugh, Michael Collins, Logan Collinsworth, Leslie DiCicco, Noah Dietrich, Logan Espinoza, Noah Fernandez, Julia Frerking, Wylee Gapsiewicz, Kai Garcia, Allyson Gaustad, Thomas Gore, Samuel Hancock, Bryce Haneiko, Kelton Hopper, Aiden Hughes, Keyton Jones, Josephine Machowicz, Samantha Macias, Owen Mansfield, Alana Marroquin, Betty McClure, Colby Mo, Brady Nobles, Lana Royal, Krysta Ruddell, Jordan Schrenk, Emily Schulze, Justin Shields, Tobey Tran, Sean Trinh, Isabella Trisha, Collin Turner, Lauren Turner and Nathan VanLoenen.

       Pearland Junior High South:

       Natalia Alvarado, McKinzi Bingley, Megan Chaison, Keith Mortenson, Sophia Nguyen, Emma Orsi, Luis Padilla, Kaden Scott, Charlotte Tatem, Gillian Toney and Hunter Watkins.

       Pearland Junior High West:

       Khayan Abustan, Brieon Alegado, Ayush Anandkumar, Josh Anino, Jeffin Antoney, Miles Artall, Aidan Avalos, Makenna Beard, Sofia Budimlic, Erick Castillo, Morgan Chan, Stefan Chang, Leetyan Chen, Adan Contreras, Tristan Coronado, Fernanda Covarrubias, Andres Garza, Stephen Gobin, Alex Gu, Ashley Guzman, Daniela Haskins, Ethan He, Ethan Hibbeler, Momo Huang, Erin Ireland, Sarina Kelly, Shlomo Koremblum, Daniel Lee, Kara Li, Ethan Lopez, Viviana Luna, Avery Mansfield, Miranda Montenegro, Caleb Ni, Zachary Pair, Leah Phan, Emma Porter, Emmerie Ricketts, Jennifer Ross, James She, Hannah Siggins, Konstantin Sinyak, Christopher Stiles, Stanley Sun, Joseph Swafford, Sofia Tafoya, Melissa Taylor, David  Torres, Ryan Tran, Roy Wang, Braden Wilhelm, Alan Yao, Amy Zhang, Efran Zhao, Ares Zhou, Derek Zhu and Jerry Zhu.